Announcing Frankie Rose's Full Album Cover of The Cure's Seventeen Seconds for SOUNDS DELICIOUS.

Latest Mixtape:

Shop the TK market: Coffee + Vinyl Pairings Subscription (Recurring)

Buy it now

SOUNDS DELICIOUS: Frankie Rose Covers The Cure!

Thanks to a friend who was a die-hard fan, I became obsessed with The Cure in high school and college. I had every record they’d ever released and I was obsessive about hunting down their b-sides. I still think tracks like “From The Edge of the Deep Green Sea,” “Jumping Someone Else’s Train,” and “A Forest” rank among some of the greatest songs ever written.

So it’s with particular enthusiasm that we announce that our friend Frankie Rose has recorded a full album cover of The Cure’s Seventeen Seconds for SOUNDS DELICIOUS. For those who somehow missed Frankie’s brilliant solo LPs such as Turntable Kitchen favorites Interstellar and the brand spanking new Cage Tropicalyou may nonetheless recognize her for her impressive resume as one of the founding members of Crystal Stilts, Dum Dum Girls, and Vivian Girls.

Seventeen Seconds was The Cure’s second album and originally dropped back in 1980. Q Magazine called it one of the “100 Greatest British Albums Ever” and it was included in the book 1001 Albums You Must Hear Before You Die. It’s a classic.

Frankie explained why she selected this record for SOUNDS DELICIOUS and her approach to the recording process:

“This is my take on The Cure’s Seventeen Seconds. Since I already think it’s a perfect record, I tried not to reinterpret too much and stick to similar sounds as the original, but with a twist. Working on it with Jorge Elbrecht was a dream, because he’s the only person who’s as deep of a Cure fan as I am! And he’s a damn wizard!”

The album’s first single premiered yesterday on Pitchfork and you can hear it here:

Frankie Rose’s version is only available by subscribing to SOUNDS DELICIOUS. In addition to a deluxe edition for our Kickstarter supporters, it’s available on super limited colored vinyl for recurring subscribers and gift orders of 6-months or more (while supplies last) and on black vinyl for all other orders. As always, each copies comes packaged with a digital download of the album. Only 1000 copies were pressed in total! These are expected to ship mid-November.

Let's Meet up… in your inbox.

Posted by Matthew Hickey

Matthew is the music editor and co-founder of Turntable Kitchen. He’s addicted to vinyl records, pour over coffee, craft beer, small batch bourbon, and pan roasting pork chops.

  • Matthew

    Any chance this comes with a digital copy?

  • Hi Matthew! All SOUNDS DELICIOUS releases include a digital copy!

  • Jeremy U


  • Michael Bacigalupi

    Incredible. Just listened to streaming version of “A Forrest” and was not disappointed with the reverent treatment of one of my all time favorite songs. Lisa and Jorge created a deliciously crisp new take on a classic! Mix and recording are superb.

  • Hegemone

    My level of excitement is off the charts. I have often considered The Cure a keystone band in my life’s soundtrack. The evolution of Smith’s talent and sound over time was amazing to witness and listen to. The single is amazing and seems like a natural derivation of the original. It was truly amazing to listen to the original and this work back to back. Both are incredibly rich and full of intricacies. This just made my fall and I can’t wait for that mailer to hit my doorstep. Add a set of Erasure and Depeche Mode covers and my music collection will have a great set of bookends. Thanks guys you are doing important work here.

Get the pairings box:A curated food and music discovery experience


In season now:

Shop the TK market: Cookbook In A Recipe Box

Buy it now

Recently on the turntable:

See all Stories from the Turntable > >

Recently in the kitchen:

See all Stories from the Kitchen > >

Get the pairings box:A curated food and music discovery experience


In season now:

Shop the TK market: Cookbook In A Recipe Box

Buy it now