Latest Mixtape:

Shop the TK market: Coffee + Vinyl Pairings Subscription (Recurring)

Buy it now

Turntable Kitchen :: The August 2011 Mix

It’s something I can’t explain, but some of TK’s mixes come together easily, while others are labors of love.  The August mix definitely falls into the latter category.  I struggled with everything from committing to an opening track, track order and song selection.  Once I had a little over half a mix, I felt like it was still missing something.  Ultimately, I ended up hitting up some of my colleagues’ sites to find tracks to fill in the gabs.  I found the Bare Wires and Mikal Cronin tracks while browsing the consistently excellent See The Leaves; “HURTLOVE” and “Shells of Silver” were posted on the always spot-on Listen Before You Buy; Gorilla vs. Bear featured the Wildlife remix; and the Benoit & Sergio track was courtesy of elegantly stylish ISO50.  Despite the difficulties of curating this one, I think it turned out pretty great – so I hope you enjoy it too.

Turntable Kitchen :: The August 2011 Mix (.zip file)

01. Mikal Cronin – Apathy
02. Bare Wires – Cheap Perfume
03. Motel Beds – Western Son
04. The Fantasies – Earth Life
05. Colorfeels – Pretty Walk
06. Soft Metals – Psychic Driving
07. Benoit & Sergio – Boy Trouble (Radio Edit)
08. Jhameel – Shut Up
09. The Japanese Popstars feat. James Vincent McMorrow – Shells of Silver (White Sea Remix)
10. SBTRKT – Wildfire (Drumma Boy Remix feat. Shabazz Palaces)
11. Evenings – Lo-Vélo
12. Other Lives – For 12
13. Gardens & Villa – Black Hills
14. Princeton – Clamoring For Your Heart
15. Jay-Z & Kanye West – Otis
16. Domo Genesis – Glory (redux)
17. Thundercat – For Love I Come
18. Air France – It Feels Good To Be Around You
19. Doomstarks – Victory Laps
20. Mathieu Santos – I Can Hear The Trains Coming

I took the picture above in Bogota at the Gabriel García Márquez Community Center.  If you haven’t already, go read Kasey’s brief Colombia travel guide.

Let's Meet up… in your inbox.

Posted by Matthew Hickey

Matthew is the music editor and co-founder of Turntable Kitchen. He’s addicted to vinyl records, pour over coffee, craft beer, small batch bourbon, and pan roasting pork chops.

  • Haven’t had a chance to listen to it yet, but the effort looks like it was worth the while man. Thanks!

  • Lmccue55

    I heart this mix and i heart U!!!!!!

  • Aw, I’m blushing 🙂

  • Thanks man! I hope you enjoy it once you give it a listen!

  • MusicEntree

    Thanks for the new tracks, I love the one by Evenings. Great Blog!

  • Riklevinthal

    Love the colorfeels track! Great mix!

  • Yeah, his whole new album is fantastic. Get it if you haven’t already.

  • Thanks! I really like that one too!

  • C Edelman

    that japanese popstars/j.v.m. song is my new obsession…good all around list…thanks

  • The track is a serious jam. I knew I was in love the first time I heard it. J.V.M. is a hero.

  • The vocals on Jhameel -Shut Up are phenomenal!

  • Pingback: Turntable Kitchen em Mindset()

  • Pingback: Foodie Underground: 5 Best Foodie Blogs | EcoSalon | Conscious Culture and Fashion()

Get the pairings box:A curated food and music discovery experience


In season now:

Shop the TK market: Cookbook In A Recipe Box

Buy it now

Recently on the turntable:

See all Stories from the Turntable > >

Recently in the kitchen:

See all Stories from the Kitchen > >

Get the pairings box:A curated food and music discovery experience


In season now:

Shop the TK market: Cookbook In A Recipe Box

Buy it now