Author Archives: Matthew Hickey

  1. Single Serving: Oceaán – Veritas (Young & Sick’s Mixed Feelings)

    Los Angeles’ Young & Sick (the project of Nick van Hofwegen) tackles Oceaán‘s “Veritas” and holy shit does he ever nail it. He completely reframes the original with a brand new arrangement that maintains the original’s ivory-framed melody and vocals while constructing a brand new, bewitching composition. On repeat.

  2. Single Serving: Oxford Drama – Limbo

    We became a little obsessed with Polish duo Oxford Drama after discovering their debut EP earlier this year. Their latest single “Limbo” is set with a highly textured, slowly percolating ambiance that builds along a bright, bouncing bass riff and deep, gradually unfurling percussion. It’s lush and thoughtfully arranged; a warm and simmering treat for a Continue…

  3. Top 10 Live Performances of 2014 (by Jeffrey Silverstein)

    This year brought a lot of changes to Turntable Kitchen. In addition to the launch of the new website and the release of new products in the shop, 2014 also marked the first year we’ve had regular contributors on the site. Those contributors are a huge part of why this year’s also been the best Continue…

  4. Single Serving: Osca – Blood (GEMS Remix)

    The debut single “Blood” by London four piece Osca get’s the remix treatment courtesy of our friends in GEMS. And it’s just as sweeping, darkly lit and cinematic as you might expect from a collaboration by the two up-and-coming bands. Take a listen to the remix and the original below. It’ll give you chills.

  5. Single Serving: POP ETC – Follow You Down (Gin Blossoms Cover)

    The Bay Area is in the midst of what we’re (jokingly) referring to as “the storm of the century.” It may not hold a candle to the thunder storms I grew up with (and truly miss) in Ohio, but we are expecting it to be rainy and dreary for the next couple of days. So, Continue…

  6. Single Serving: Daniel Wilson – The Boy Who Cried Thunder EP

    Let there be no doubt, Michigan songwriter Daniel Wilson is one of the year’s best new songwriters. And if you need convincing, his brand new Boy Who Cried Thunder EP makes a sufficiently compelling case. We’ve been eagerly following along as he slowly teased out the tracks from the EP and now we can finally hear the Continue…

  7. TK039: The Night VI – Heroine b/w Drifters

    Led by songwriters Jack Gourlay (guitars) & Sophie-Rose Harper (vocals), London sextet The Night VI spent the past year staking out a reputation as one of the music scene’s most consistently rewarding new bands. Indeed, during that time they released four hot-as-fire singles (plus pretty spectacular covers of Frank Ocean’s “Thinkin Bout You” and Jungle’s Continue…

  8. Single Serving: Purity Ring – Push Pull

    Dreamy and brightly melodic, Purity Ring just dropped the first single “Push Pull” from their new album. I’m what you’d call a “Purity Ring fan” so I’m more than happy to spend some time getting familiar with this new single. Take a listen and hear it for yourself.

  9. Single Serving: Fine Print – Can’t Lie

    London’s Fine Print returns today with a slick new vibe titled “Can’t Lie.” It’s as smoothly sensual as silk sheets in a softly-lit bedroom. In fact, the intimate falsetto calls to mind Rhye frontman Milosh but with a little more sparkle and disco-accented grooves to accompany it. Take a listen below.

  10. Single Serving: Ender Belongs To Me – Getting Colder (feat. Alexandra Lowell)

    If you’ve been around here long enough you may recall the experimental pop stylings of Ender Belongs to Me which we previously featured back in 2012. The Brooklyn-based duo still prefer to remain anonymous, only noting in their biography that they are “friends from childhood, who write, produce, compose, engineer, mix and master on their own in less than Continue…

Recipe index

Filter by