Author Archives: Bastien Rayno

  1. Single Serving: La Mar – Still Wild

    Sydney-based duo La Mar share the slow burning title track of their forthcoming debut Still Wild EP. A delightful soft dancehall-inflected piece of work. La Mar create the chilliest atmosphere with warm loud beats dipped into soulful R&B vibes and haunting vocals. Take a listen to “Still Wild” below.

    Take a listen to the chill, yet dancehall inflected single "Still Wild" from La Mar.

  2. Single Serving: MK Grands – Rxssia

    Producer, writer and singer MK Grands provides more R&B and groove movements than he did with his last tracks. With “Rxssia” MK Grands explores another side of his skills, it’s a bit more upbeat. The Sidney-based artist draws a soft-dark and impressive atmospheric production with intense vocals about “the appreciation of human connection and its Continue…

  3. Single Serving: Phoria – Melatonin

    The Brighton quintet Phoria hold true forward-thinking (read: avant-garde) artistic talents for expansive, visually evocative soundscapes. They now return with “Melatonin” their first release since 2014. The track gets into themes of subconscious time-travel “Somewhere between your dreams and your waking life is a path that you might not notice yourself following.” This outstanding piece Continue…

  4. Single Serving: Jack Garratt – Breathe Life

    London’s 24-year-old multi-instrumentalist and visionary Jack Garratt crafts another skill on new single “Breathe Life” by exploring the intricacies of his dance hall-inflected experimental pop. It is an entrancing piece of work pulled from his just-announced debut full-length Phase which is due for release February 19 next year via Island Records. Take a listen below.

  5. Single Serving: MK Grands – Hold You Down

    Sydney-based singer and producer Daniel Cartisano, aka MK Grands, crafts an impressive blend of electronic elements dipped into soulful vocals. He recently returned with “Hold You Down,” perhaps his most remarkable single to date. About the track Cartisano says, “It’s about the feelings experienced by two people when trying to leave each other after a long Continue…

  6. Single Serving: Talos – In Time

    Cork-based artist Eoin French, alias Talos, returns with his third-ever song and his first material of 2015, titled “In Time.” About the track, Talos says, “It’s about how we exist. We feel and experience a range of things – sadness, happiness, grief, anger – and these all fade. Regardless of what we do there is Continue…

  7. Single Serving: DEATHS – Voices

    Berlin-based DEATHS return with their latest effort entitled “Voices.” The collective craft a pure emotional depth dipped into gorgeous vocals. The track captures the introspective melancholia of DEATHS’ soul so seamlessly that you just want to play it again and again. Taken from a forthcoming EP out later this year.

  8. Single Serving: BANNERS – Shine A Light

    Formerly known as RAINES, the Liverpool based artist Mike Nelson now records as BANNERS. After the slow burning “Ghosts” here is his second-ever song titled “Shine A Light.” The track is a wonderful piece of alt-pop that showcases the boy’s stunning vocals with an anthemic chorus. Speaking on the track, BANNERS says: “The song is Continue…

  9. Single Serving: CHINAH – Away From Me

    Danish trio CHINAH unveil their stunning debut track that comes straight from the band’s bedrooms in Nørrebro, Copenhagen (where the song was born from a since-wave from a synthesizer). It’s called “Away From Me” and it’s a subtle blending of electronic soft pop dipped into a sophisticated R&B sound. This beguiling piece of work is taken Continue…

  10. Single Serving: M.I.L.K. – Everything You Know

    Copenhagen-based outfit M.I.L.K. have shared the second installment taken from their forthcoming as-yet untitled debut EP. It’s is called “Everything You Know” and the track highlights funky drums and playful percussion balanced with longing horns and soulful vocals to mirror those summer romances you wish would never end. Singer Emil Will explains, “It’s a galactic love Continue…

  11. Single Serving: COMPNY – Gently Let You Down

    London five-piece COMPNY return with a new single called “Gently Let You Down.” Once again, the band has crafted another dazzling slice of indie-pop dipped into a lush upbeat melody – produced by Barny Barnicott (Arctic Monkeys, Bombay Bicycle Club). Take a listen below.

Recipe index

Filter by